1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AC86U. Do you guys know this?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by follower, Dec 10, 2019.

  1. follower

    follower Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    Sometimes we can use both 192.168.1.1 and 192.168.50.1 for the same router.:mad:

    What I saw?
    All of them were based on Nvram Clear.

    Situation A.
    1. logged in with 192.168.50.1
    2. update firmware.
    3. logged in with 192.168.1.1 accidentally.
    4. logged in with 192.168.1.1.

    Situation B.
    1. loggged in with 192.168.1.1.
    2. update firmware.
    3. can't get the web gui.
    4. logged in with 192.168.50.1.

    What the...
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  2. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,824
    Location:
    USA
    I can not reproduce this on 81351. I can only login with the set/non-default IP address, 192.168.1.1.

    I would reset your router and play some more.

    OE
     
  3. dave14305

    dave14305 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Any old ASUS devices still plugged in and broadcasting an SSID?
     
  4. follower

    follower Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    It was an old memory. I don't remember the firmware version.
     
  5. PlayaSucia

    PlayaSucia Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    I've always connected with router.asus.com
    I just checked and 192.168.50.1 works but not 192.168.1.1 but I don't recall if it has always been that or not. Also I'm still on 45717 firmware.
     
  6. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    814
    Location:
    Poland
    china version ?
    All my EU devices use 192.168.1.1 ip adreses
     
  7. PlayaSucia

    PlayaSucia Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2018
    Messages:
    27
    The US version, I assume.
    I'm not sure how to tell the difference but I bought it on amazon in the US.
     
  8. follower

    follower Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    249
    No. They are the US version. I've seen a lot of AC86U which were 192.168.50.1 as a default. Of course my AC86Us are 192.168.50.1 as well.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019