1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT-AC68U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384_81039

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by wshuman3, Aug 23, 2019.

  1. wshuman3

    wshuman3 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    12
    Available by firmware update check.

    Not posted to the website yet.
     
  2. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Poland
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2019
    joltdude likes this.
  3. Domdus

    Domdus New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Europe
    Just updated my two AC68U in AiMesh setup via the ASUS Router App.
    All went smooth, no hickups, no bugs yet seen (no failures reported in logs). I did not perform any manual reboot or factory reset, devices just came up again with previous configuration and continued operating normally.

    AiMesh router was on 45717, the node on 45713 (for stability).

    BR
     
    128bit likes this.
  4. 128bit

    128bit Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    NC
    i have the ac86u and like u, i just install via the asus gui and roll. been doing that for years now with 0 issues. perhaps we're lucky but when compared to my previous linksys (marvel) routers, this 86u is a dream. still, i'm just a low-level home user with a ssd nas. my fastest client has 802.11ac and i'm quite ok with concurrent 4k streams. course with spectrum putting out 200 Mbps. . .
     
  5. wouterv

    wouterv Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    It is funny and weird:
    The router is still at version 45717.
    The system log reports:
    Code:
    Aug 24 10:43:16 WATCHDOG: [FAUPGRADE][auto_firmware_check:(5834)]period_retry = 0
    Aug 24 10:43:16 WATCHDOG: [FAUPGRADE][auto_firmware_check:(5840)]periodic_check AM 4:42
    Aug 24 10:43:18 WATCHDOG: [FAUPGRADE][auto_firmware_check:(5860)]retrieve firmware information
    Aug 24 10:43:18 WATCHDOG: [FAUPGRADE][auto_firmware_check:(5874)]no need to upgrade firmware
    
    A manual update check does find the 81039 update.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  6. wouterv

    wouterv Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    I upgraded the router followed by factory defaults and manual configure.
    The Deauth / Auth / Assoc messages are back again:
    Code:
    Aug 24 15:33:44 syslog: WLCEVENTD wlceventd_proc_event(386): eth1: Deauth_ind 68:07:15:11:11:11, status: 0, reason: Unspecified reason (1)
    Aug 24 15:33:44 syslog: WLCEVENTD wlceventd_proc_event(420): eth2: Auth 68:07:15:11:11:111, status: 0, reason: d11 RC reserved (0)
    Aug 24 15:33:44 syslog: WLCEVENTD wlceventd_proc_event(449): eth2: Assoc 68:07:15:11:11:11, status: 0, reason: d11 RC reserved (0)
    
    And the GUI seems a bit slow.

    Wondering if there really have been ‭35,322‬ builds between May 13 with build 3.0.0.4.384.45717 and August 23 with build 3.0.0.4.384.81039, that is to close to 600 builds per working day o_O
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
    sanke1 and VANT like this.
  7. hancox

    hancox New Around Here

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Concur. Skip this one until the inevitable Asus "oopsie" patch comes out.
     
    Andy1932 likes this.
  8. Grisu

    Grisu Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Messages:
    2,300
    They just need a reason for 386.xxxxx running out with 384.99999 or this are seconds not builds.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2019
  9. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    793
    Location:
    Poland
    same in 86u, but IMO not bit but very slow.
     
  10. camedia

    camedia Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2018
    Messages:
    18
    Yes, very slow on some pages.
     
    VANT likes this.
  11. wouterv

    wouterv Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Defenitely something wrong in this build, here the CPU and RAM figures.
    The dump is made without a WAN connection, also with a WAN connection and no active clients the figures are the same.
    It shows frequent high CPU loads, mostly Core 2, sometimes also Core 1 without any external action of a client or the Internet:

    upload_2019-8-25_13-1-9.png
    With other firmware build the CPU load is usually low and only start to increase when there is really action initiated.
    The router setup is very basic, no AiProtection active, no AiCloud.
     
    VANT likes this.
  12. sanke1

    sanke1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    IN
    GUI sluggishness was the first thing I noticed. Maybe some form of planned obsolescence and forcing everyone to buy their faster AX based routers.
     
    Grisu and VANT like this.
  13. Ronald Schwerer

    Ronald Schwerer Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2017
    Messages:
    347
    Same here. I installed it on a 68U configured as a repeater. Couldn't log-in after installing & power cycle. So I did an NVRAM erase and wirelessly re-configured as a repeater, choosing to get an automatic IP (static in the router as 192.168.1.3). After reboot, still couldn't see it on my LAN, but could sign-in wirelessly in the GUI. I saw it still had an IP of 192.168.1.1, so I manually set it correctly and rebooted. After that, it worked as a repeater fine. Only a few low bandwidth clients connected. But when I logged-in to the GUI I saw core 2 CPU spiked to around 50% every 3 seconds. Due to this I decided not to install elsewhere and rolled the repeater back to 384_45717.

    RepeaterCoreSpikes.JPG
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
    VANT likes this.
  14. Smokindog

    Smokindog Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2016
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    The Great State of Texas
    I've got a couple AC68's as APs that look similar. About every 5 seconds one of the CPUs jumps to 50% or more for about a second and then they return to near idle. Very repetitive pattern and very consistent between the APs.

     
    VANT likes this.
  15. wouterv

    wouterv Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    And back to 3.0.0.4.384.45717 with exact the same manual configured settings, all quiet again:

    upload_2019-8-25_16-19-47.png

    RAM from 29% down to 26% for what it is worth.
     
  16. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,020
    Location:
    Canada
    Run "top" over SSH, you'll see what's causing the CPU spikes.

    EDIT: Tested it here, and I don't get those CPU spikes. My router is 92% idle while on the main page, with 4% of CPU usage caused by httpd updating the system status page. Moving to a different page drops its usage to 1%, leaving the router idling at 97-98%, which is perfectly normal.

    You will have to check with "top" to determine what is using your CPU.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2019
  17. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,545
    Location:
    USA
    Did you have Smart Connect enabled?

    OE
     
  18. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,020
    Location:
    Canada
    Smart Connect does not exist on the RT-AC68U.
     
  19. OzarkEdge

    OzarkEdge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Messages:
    1,545
    Location:
    USA
    Oops... I know that! :oops:

    So, the CPU utilization observed on both 68U and 86U 81039 must not be related to Smart Connect (and the excessive channel scanning some are seeing).

    OE
     
  20. wouterv

    wouterv Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2013
    Messages:
    1,002
    Here you go:
    3.PNG
    81039: clearly httpd, the Apache HTTP server takes most CPU time, also explaining the slugish GUI response.


    4.PNG
    45717: nt_center is the top, but others are close.