1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

recommended settings for 1900P for ipads/iphone wifi

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by amd7674, Jan 19, 2020.

  1. amd7674

    amd7674 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Hi Guys,

    My kids are complaining our wifi home connection is very leggy. Apparently they get disconnected from their games i.e. brawl stars. The wifi signal is strong when connected to 2.4ghz so I don't know what could be the problem. My son says if he connects to his cellurar provider LTE on his iphone, his game is fine. I'm attaching my 2.4Ghz settings (I'm using latest Merlin fw on my main router) and stable build on AP n66u router. Please see signature. This problem is not releated to the last fw, as kids were complaining about wifi connection for a long time. I don't have any issues on my iphone, however I do not play games.

    Please let me know if you see some settings that might be impacting IOS/Apple devices.

    Also if I'm not using 5Ghz should I disable it on both my router / AP? Both router (basement) and AP (2nd floor) seem to be too far to have them stable.

    Thanks in advance... :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dave14305

    dave14305 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Messages:
    2,173
    Location:
    USA
    Do they complain of lag when connected to: router, AP, or both? Do you have a Gigabit connection between AP and router?

    Settings seem fine to me. Review Appleā€™s recommendations as well: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202068
     
    L&LD likes this.
  3. EmeraldDeer

    EmeraldDeer Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Roaming between access points is mostly dependent upon code in each WiFi client. When I tried Roaming Assistant, it was more trouble than it was worth. It is for clients which do not know enough to try another access point when the signal strength drops below usefulness. That same code needs to reconnect to a closer AP.

    I would use a long preamble if you have older WiFi clients or a noisy WiFi background.

    I cannot think of any settings in general for Apple devices.

    I don't think it matters whether you turn off unused 5 GHz.

    If you think you are bumping into bandwidth limits, perhaps FreshJR QOS would more gracefully cope with the situation.
     
  4. amd7674

    amd7674 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    thanks Guys :)

    Yes my AP is on Gigabit connection.

    I will try long preamble on my main router. I just realized I had long on router and short on AP? Should I try long or short on both?

    Also should I try to disable Roaming Assistant on both router and AP?
     
  5. bbunge

    bbunge Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,026
    Location:
    Pennsylvania USA
    Use 5 GHZ! Set the mobile devices to use any of your assigned SSID's
    Disable Roaming Assistant on AP and router for 2.4 and 5 GHZ
    Different SSID's for 2.4 and 5 GHZ on both AP and router
    Enable beamforming
    If you are using QOS try Manual/sfq set for 95% of your measured speeds. I find my AC66U_B1 does better with sfq than codel or fq_codel.
    I use DoT with Quad9 and have very good results.
     
  6. EmeraldDeer

    EmeraldDeer Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Long on both. 2nd priority.

    Disable Roaming Assistant on both. 1st priority.
     
  7. amd7674

    amd7674 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Should I keep same SSIDs or different once I disable Roaming assistant? bbunge above recommends having different SSIDs.
     
  8. EmeraldDeer

    EmeraldDeer Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2017
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    I would use the same SSID for both 2.4 GHz and another SSID for both 5 GHz. Otherwise, the tendency is to always be on 2.4 GHz.